NaNoWriMo 2016: 50,608 words

I’ve really just been doing the bare minimum to keep on top of all of my projects this month. I’ve been vacillating between anxiety and depression. I haven’t been depressed in a while. There was a weird moment of relief, when it first hit me, because anxiety for me is caring a lot and depression is not caring at all. I’ve decided I like anxiety more, though. I can be anxious and happy, I have a lot to show for it when I’m anxious, I’ve been doing it for so many years, I’m very good at it. My depression is mean, too, it’s a voice in my head that says really nasty things to me about how nothing I do or have ever done has mattered. Anxiety tells me it all matters too much, that I can’t give up, that I just have to try harder every day. This is how I have learned to live with it. Up until this past couple of months, I was actually doing really, really well with it, the motivation to DO was there and the bad anxiety stuff was very mild, easy to dismiss, unimportant.

I had a bunch of really bad, 0 words days this month, but because I was depressed, I didn’t really care. A few days ago I was sobbing while cooking dinner, facilitated by PMS, and I think it was one of those mythical good cries. I’ve had maybe three of those my whole entire life. I said all of these things aloud to Shaun, and per usual, he made me feel better, because he’s very good at looking at the logical sides of things, and he knows me so very well. I feel like I turned a corner and things are going to get better. The next day I wrote 2,836 words on my NaNoWriMo. The day after that (yesterday) I wrote 7,108 words, passed 50k, kind of brought the bit of story I was writing to some sort of resolution and won NaNoWriMo for the 11th time.

I’m trying to take today off, but I keep mentally going over all of the things I neglected to do this past month, so good to know I’m firmly back to my anxiety, I guess. Maybe I’ll write them in my bullet journal. That usually helps.

Here are some pictures I took this month:

A cutie.

328. Eye level

Tulsa

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2016: 50,608 words

  1. Summer Fey Foovay says:

    You deal with it all with such grace and courage. I’m the first one to acknowledge that a supportive partner like Shaun (or James) makes a world of difference, too. I like the way you explain your mental/emotional states – you put it into words very well. Better than I ever have. Maybe it is something in the stars, for I’ve been having a wrestling match with depression all month. I haven’t done as well. My Nano novel has only reached 18000 words and I’ve rather given up at this point. So tell your anxiety I am impressed, at least, with what you have accomplished. Blessedbe

Leave a Reply

