NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 1

UntitledIt’s that time again. Jumping into it feels weird. I lost a lot of my regular routines over the last several months, including writing on this blog. I hurt my neck, Shaun went back to school, we’ve had to really adjust our budget, but everything is good. I feel like I’m constantly saying, “I’m getting back on top of things!” and I’m not sure if it’s ever really true. I do more than ever, really, I can tell because I have been bullet journaling and I have pages full of doing, I’m actually on top of a lot of things, but I have been feeling… more overwhelmed.

So of course, it’s time to add another to do to my everyday. But this one actually helps me feel less overwhelmed, most of the time! One of my favorite side effects of NaNoWriMo is that I turn my inner editor off and it seeps into every part of my life. I wish I could leave it off forever. Could I? I actually take more days just for myself, without guilt, during NaNoWriMo than any other month of the year. It gives me permission to ignore a sink full of dishes for a while. I wish I didn’t have to get permission to relax, though! I really need to work on that, because, at the end of the day, the sink full of dishes is still there, and then I clean it anyway and I didn’t spend any time fretting about it. I get SO MUCH done in November. Nothing actually suffers. Anxiety and worry are so useless. I can just skip them and everything works out.  How can I get this attitude into the rest of my life? Hmm!

Anyway, yesterday I had no ideas or plans for NaNoWriMo, but I didn’t sweat it. I looked at Behind the Name and wrote a list of names to grab when I’m in the middle of something and need to name a new character, I got a beginning scene location from this random plot generator and then I started writing. I have no idea what’s going to happen. I’m using prompts a lot, especially ones handed out during sprints by the @nanowordsprints twitter. It’s just happening. Only real decision I have made about it so far is to have a contemporary setting but really embrace those 60s gothic tropes, which I’ve never really done before. Contemporary, I mean. I’m all about 60s gothic tropes. The characters don’t feel very contemporary as a result, but I’m enjoying it. It’s got a vibe. Twin Peaksy.

I finished day 1 with a pretty bad backache from procrastinating on my laptop all day and 2090 words.

Here’s my last sentence of the day:

“She threw her coal black curls up into a loose ponytail and did not stand in front of the mirror looking critically at her features, as is so common in novels.”


 

2090 / 50000 words. 4% done!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 1

  1. Summer Fey Foovay says:

    I so know what you mean – “I’m getting back on top of things” and routines tossed like salad. My year has been that way. And every time I think we have a new routine and things will settle – WHAM we’re back in the hospital. I’m going to snatch your idea of making a list of random names, you know how terrible I am at coming up with names, and maybe a random location because outside of the preface I wrote a couple days ago I seem unable to get this story started. Oddly enough this year I have a plot but no scenes outside of the preface.

Leave a Reply

