Today we are going to say goodbye to this amazing lady. The sky is currently gray, and rain is slowly dripping off the eaves, and off the eaves of her house next door, too, which gives me a feeling. I feel so grateful to her for the part she did in raising Shaun, and for all the times she simply called me “granddaughter.” I feel lucky that I got to eat her chocolate pie, that I sleep most nights under one of her quilts, and that the last time I saw her she squeezed me so tight, still so strong, and told me she loved me. Goodbye Grandma, I love you too.

 

Leave a Reply

