2014

Acorn Squash Stuffed with Cranberry-Pecan Rice317. 116. les temps sont durs pour les rêveurs.

Last year my greatest accomplishments were probably meal planning, house organization and yoga. It wasn’t just that I did all of those things consistently, it was how great they made me feel. Shaun got me this magnetic dry erase calendar for the fridge and it’s one of those things you really like the idea of but you don’t actually think is going to work. But it did. I scheduled all my chores and exercise and planned my cooking a week in advance with it and my life is completely different than it was a year ago. It’s so tidy and we eat so well and I’m in the best shape of my life, now, approaching 30. I almost feel like an adult.

monthly calendars

I also kept up with some photo projects. I finished a self portrait 365 and started one that isn’t self portrait based. I feel roller coaster emotions about my art. No matter what’s going on, I always think I was better before (whatever that means, a year ago, five years, 2 weeks?) than I am now. I don’t know what causes that, but looking through photos to put this post together, I feel especially happy with the things I was doing this time last year.
Untitled

Untitled

64. then turns around and it sucks you in

100. but she's too rough and i'm too delicate

Seattle Pride 2014

July 19

Five.

Twelve.

301.

Eighty-Four

One-Hundred & Fifteen
Best of 2014 on flickr.

4 thoughts on “2014

  1. megan says:

    I can completely identify with feeling that I was better before than now artistically. I am trying to be content on moving forward and keeping the habit alive.

    • Rachel says:

      The weirdest part for me is the stuff I am meh about right now, I’m going to really like later. When I am super-super prolific I might pick one picture I thought was okay but then go back a couple of years and I like every shot and can’t figure out why I picked the one I did. The habit is super important. I think we are better than we used to be, we’re just not nostalgic for the present yet. Like almost everything else, it’s all in my head.

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    This photos are great, I love black and white they hark back to an era that has been lost but I believe that b/w has an expression that says more then color. Great work l will see you soon
    As always Sheldon

Leave a Reply

