NaNoWriMo 2014: Days 17 – 24

Untitled

I very briefly left the house a few days ago. It’s pretty outside, and bright!

Week three was harder for me than it usually is, I guess. I kept on top of my word count through almost all of it, though, just dipping 500 words behind on Sunday when I was assailed by menstrual cramps of doom. I don’t know that I have ever been so consistently on track before.

I have had some of those slogging writing sessions where I feel like I am just putting one word after another to connect scenes into some semblance of a story, ignoring my inner editor as much as possible (example: Carolyn hoped that it had been a ruse. Georgette was pale and smelled of burnt sage. Carolyn only hoped Brent didn’t notice.) and then I have these chapters that are pure delight. I ran off with some side characters and they’re a lot more fun. Here’s a bit where they visited a wonderful witch to try and break a spell that has been placed on my super-boring main character:

A little woman stood just inside. She was very old. Perhaps the oldest woman Georgette had ever seen. Her face was just a pile of folds and lines, her nose had large black hairs emerging from it, and her eyes were small and cloudy. She was wearing layers and layers of clothes, at least three shawls of varying colors and cleanliness and she shivered even though it wasn’t a particularly cold day.

 

I got behind posting here, and behind on a lot of other little projects, but my twitter has been full of gems.

 

 

41017 / 50000 words. 82% done!

Leave a Reply

