NaNoWriMo 2014: Days 12 – 16

320.Got a bit behind updating here, as I usually do during the glumpy week twos. I took a couple of days off last week, but only when I had the word count to spare. I’ve kept about a bit ahead of daily requirements and even with some intense desires to quit, for both Shaun and I myself, we stuck it out and I feel pretty good about what I have going on right now. Events have taken place. Things are happening. Marriage, kidnapping, intrigue!

My self portrait theme this week is yoga, just to make sure I do it in the midst of NaNoWriMo and I feel pretty great. It snowed yesterday! I took a bubble bath today. I smell like geraniums. I have no idea what I’m going to cook for dinner because we decided not to go to the grocery store yesterday while it was snowing. Shaun is going to get the stuff on my list on his way home from work, but all my planned dinners this week were for the slow cooker, so it doesn’t do a lot of good to get ingredients around 4pm. But I’ll rustle something together. We have lentils for days and days, after all.

It’s getting harder and harder to share bits of my novel. This happens every year too. But whatever! Here we find our heroine experiencing her own bout of the week twos:

Thinking about her novel sent her on another spiral. Her stupid, terrible novel. She should go downstairs right now and thrust it into the fire, but no, here’s Georgette standing in the open door and she can see what a waste of space you are.

Here’s a peek at my spreadsheet wordcounts so far this month: nano111614

 

 

27841 / 50000 words. 56% done!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014: Days 12 – 16

  1. Summer Fey Foovay says:

    ARGH. I had to take a day off to go out of town all day, then a day to work, and then I hit some sort of crises. I hate the book, I hate everyone in it except maybe the kitten and the monster. Have so far managed to successfully procrastinate for two whole days… someone stick a firecracker up my behind or something.

    • Rachel says:

      Hating the book and everyone in it is always a part of the process for me. You should focus on the kitten and the monster a bit if you can! That’s No Plot? No Problem? by Chris Baty advice. Or promise yourself some kind of reward for getting through a writing session! So far baking cornbread muffins has been my weird/big motivator. Shaun gets to play a video game when he gets his writing done for the day. GOOD LUCK! <3

Leave a Reply

