NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 5

Untitled Yesterday was pretty good. I really got on top of things around the house. There are so many things I have struggled with in the past that I feel I have some grasp on now. November has always been the time when things especially fall away, but now that I have established this sturdy framework of house cleaning and meal cooking it doesn’t seem quite so bad.

Reading back on previous Day 5s, though, I can tell there is this common thread of how I feel on any given November day. For one thing I always put the Christmas tree up around this time. Part of that may be NaNoWriMo procrastination, but part of it is probably a seasonal depression that I have been denying forever, because I love Autumn/Winter the most, I couldn’t possibly feel seasonal depression! The first thing that gets me through it is Halloween and the second is Christmas and I’m going to go with what works for me. Cheery lights are super important to my well being.

So I cleaned the house and assembled the tree and waited for Shaun to get home. We wrote a couple of 30 minute sessions. I’m not doing as well as I usually do, I’ve still only had one 1000+ word session, but I’m getting my words every day and keeping a touch ahead of the official daily goal. After writing and eating leftover curry we put on Edward Scissorhands for a touch of Spooky Christmas celebration. The month between Halloween & Christmas involves their merging around Thanksgiving like a cornucopia of tasty holidays. Shaun took apart the Vampyre Castle lego we built in October to make room for the Christmas Village lego we will build in December and I hung lights and tinsel on the tree and then we put on the ornaments. It was nice and so cheering.

At the end of the day I had written 1,669 words.

 

9238 / 50000 words. 18% done!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 5

  1. Summer Fey Foovay says:

    The beauty of the twinkly lights always delighted me around Christmas. You know what a tough time I’m having that time of year – and one thing that used to make insomnia more bearable was sitting in the dark watching the Christmas lights. When I had them. None for us this year – so far anyway. It is gratifying to know you’ve got the house stuff done. Something you can pat yourself on the back for and go on. Having a routine does wonders. I can really tell mine has suffered from the mere addition of a few days cleaning other people’s houses here and there. OTH the money will do wonders for us so… :D

    • Rachel says:

      Routine has been so helpful for me, in every way! I was so in the dumps before I put the tree up, too, I feel magically better. I hope the season treats you well! <3

  2. aunaqui says:

    I really enjoy your writing! And GOOD LUCK with nanowrimo! I gave it a go three years ago and conked out at 50,000 words. I’m still working on that darn novel.

    Take care!
    Aun Aqui

    PS, autumn and winter are my favorites, too!

    • Rachel says:

      Thank you! My husband has worked on the same novel several years in a row for NaNoWriMo in the past. I’m lucky the gothic genre lends itself so well to just about 50,000 words!

Leave a Reply

