NaNoWriMo: Day 13

November 13Yesterday was an interesting writing day. I haven’t written in the mornings or early afternoon much this year. I decided to jump in on some twitter nanowordsprints and wrote for a 10 and a 20 with the accompaniment of some jasmine green tea. At the end of my last session, looking at the last sentence I wrote, I felt completely lost with my novel. I think the worst hump for me generally falls between 20k & 25k.

I got 1,071 in my sprints, then added another 12 words later when I tried to sprint again. I stopped and spent Shaun’s sprint time making a timeline. I’ve never done this before. I hashed out some ideas about what could happen in the next 3,000 words, which I felt completely stumped about.

talk it out.How do I get from where I am now to where I want to be when the novel starts careening towards the ease I feel post 30k? I think I figured out enough of the thread to get through the next 2 days and then it will be fun and easy again.

Last night we celebrated my father-in-law’s birthday with Mexican food and margaritas.  We walked home from the restaurant in the cold, with drugstore purchased Christmas wrapping paper under our arms, then tipsily spent the rest of my PSN wallet on Rock Band songs.  It was a great night.

 

 

22361 / 50000 words. 45% done!

Leave a Reply

