NaNoWriMo: Day 7

November 7: bath/shadows/cherry blossom water
Very very excited to say I am writing this update from my desktop computer. Yesterday morning I plugged the sad external hard drive into the laptop to try the chkdsk there. It hadn’t worked on my desktop but I had a feeling the desktop itself was part of the problem. In about 20 minutes the problem had been fixed and I had access to all of my files from 2011.  I started backing everything up onto another drive immediately, and the job isn’t done, but I decided to give it a little break this morning to get caught up on my flickr uploads and write this blog post from the big shiny comfort of an LCD monitor and real clicky keyboard. My computer is kind of a mess, I guess, but it’s still my favorite way to internet.

After I had started the backup of my 2009 photos, I drew a hot, cherry blossom pink bath and read The Vampire Diaries with soothing lavender incense burning. I had a lot of tension from leaning over the laptop working on my word count for days with the stress of my potentially lost files hanging over my head. It felt good to just forget about all of it for a half hour or so. As the last ashes dropped off the incense I rose from them like a NaNoWriMo phoenix, or something. Yeah.

Shaun and I wrote four 15 minute sessions. I stopped in between to stick a slab of tofu between two plates and underneath Shaun’s big, unopened Paizo delivery which arrived yesterday. When we finished our second set of 15s, he got to open his package and I got to have access to cookable tofu. Everyone is a winner.

I got 2,197 words for the day. Not my best day so far this year, but I think it’s a sign that other things were bringing me down a little. I got so much done around the house and managed a hefty word count. I’m feeling so positive about today.

 

14744 / 50000 words. 29% done!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 7

  1. foovay says:

    Wahooo – that is good news about the files! What a relief that has to be. I ran off yesterday and spent the afternoon and night at the ranch. Rode a horse. Walked the dog. I’m behind but have plans to do the marathon tomorrow and catch up. I needed a break and pick-me-up myself.

Leave a Reply

