NaNoWriMo: Day 2

emergency christmas cheer.Yesterday began with the best  of writerly intentions. Shaun and I had planned to write double what we needed for the day and we got a pretty early start.  We did some sprints, two 15 minutes and a 30, and I had written 1878 words.  So far so good! In a brief break around 11am,  I decided to search for a specific photo I took in 2011. I don’t even remember what brought me to it, but as a little window popped up and told me the drive was unformatted I felt a bit sick to my stomach. I quickly googled this term and discovered it was an error that sometimes happens with USB connected devices and is essentially a loss of data. I checked the rest of the folders on the 1TB external hard drive and they seemed to be fine.  I have a lot of things backed up in more than one place, but this specific drive, I don’t. It’s such a big drive and my photo files are huge. I have been sporadically culling them over the years, but this folder probably contained 10k photos and videos. Everything I shot in 2011. I can cheer myself with the reminder that I have a little more than 1,600 of those edited and shared on flickr, and I always upload them at the largest size possible. I haven’t had the heart to check my video folder, to see if I had actually rendered a file of my 2011 videos or not. That would be the hardest loss, probably.  I’m not calling it a loss quite yet, though. I’m running a data recovery program, and while it’s taking forever (so far it’s found 233 files that I know I had deleted myself, boring!) I’m not letting myself grieve just yet. Optimism!

Needless to say, we didn’t write again yesterday. I freaked out, I cried, I reassessed my priorities, I took down all the Halloween decor and put up Christmas because I needed the holiday cheer, I needed to replace some potentially lost memories with some new ones really quick. I drank four glasses of wine and watched hours of clips on hulu. It was still a good writing day. It was still a good day.

3827 / 50000 words. 8% done!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 2

  1. foovay says:

    AAARRRGGGHHH. I feel your pain – only yours must be even worse because you take such wonderful photos that so many people enjoy. Waaaaail…. well hopefully that data recovery worked and they’re all still there. Crossing my fingers for you. Sending big hugs.

    Although we are intent on making this a good birthday for James, we had some sadness early this morning. Pearlie the Psychic Kitty crossed the rainbow bridge in her sleep early this morning. Shaun will remember her as the cat who snatched him by the ankle…

    • Rachel says:

      Ah, Summer! I’m so sorry to hear about Pearl! I hope you and James were able to have a good day. She was such a particular and magical kitty. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

