NaNoWriMo: Week 2

Week two has a reputation and mine lived up to it. Slogging and loathing of characters and situations. Stomachaches and headaches and burying my head under a pillow. I haven’t had a nanowrimo week two this atrocious in about 4 years. I’m looking forward to getting through the next few days, hitting 30,000 and coasting through the end of the month on the momentum that comes with it. Please please please.


On Saturday I went to ridiculous lengths in an attempt to get my word count up and squeezed out 1,022 words, too many of them were me having an argument with my novel within the word document, but I’ll take them. We were hashing out the plot.


Yesterday I gave up. It was a low point. I put up the Christmas tree instead of writing. It was soothing.

So now here I am, day 14 and I haven’t started writing yet. I’m a couple of days behind in word count, but I know I can pick those up somewhere in between here and 50k. Some beautiful day in the future things will be going so swimmingly that I’ll think nothing of putting 6k down in the course of a few hours. I’m trying to stay focused on that eventuality and not the part of me that is bored with my story, uninterested in my characters… but I shouldn’t even bring those things up! Off to write now! I hope.

19236 / 50000 words. 38% done!

Leave a Reply

