NaNoWriMo: Days 22 – 26

This was a really interesting week. When I get to the point where I only have a few thousand words to go, I can map out each writing session in my head. I need to get from point A to point B in this scene, and no further, to wrap everything up neatly just past 50,000 words. I could totally go on an on, I could, my novel could easily reach 60 or 70k in terms of how much I’m capable of writing, but the genre I’m writing, or parodying, the gothic novel, is pretty perfectly poised to be 50k.
When I get to those last 10,000 words, pacing finally gets easy. I struggle with it throughout, my novel this year spanned ten or eleven years, which was a first for me, and I was really jumping around in a jumbled way for most of that, hitting a good pace every now and then and kicking myself when I’d lose the thread of it. The last week, though, is golden.
The past few years I have finished up two days before Thanksgiving with a couple of 5,000+ word days right at the end to put me over the edge. I didn’t do that this year. I wrote every day, including weekends, up until the 24th, where I stopped 1,422 words shy of 50k. I took Wednesday and Thursday off, did some shopping, saw Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows, cooked a tofurky feast, celebrated Thanksgiving with both sides of our families and relaxed. My husband and I got up today and wrote a couple of sessions, I wrote “The End” one minute before we finished our second 30 minute sprint, wrapping the day with 2,001 words.

This year I went in without even a working title. It was kind of weird and it bothered me a little, looking at my NaNoWriMo profile, so, shortly after finishing up I thought about it. I decided on Satan’s Mistress because, as is so often the case with gothic novels, the title doesn’t really encapsulate the tone of the novel. I also added a synopsis and excerpt while I was at it. You can look at them here, under the Novel Info tab.

I feel tired, but relaxed. I’m thinking of getting up tomorrow and starting a short story. I had some sort of amazing idea last night as I was drifting off to sleep that I don’t really remember. It’s good to know I still have ideas nesting in my brain, and I’d like to see if I can weasel some of them out, at least into a concept. Shaun still has a few thousand words to go and I’m going to try to keep writing alongside him for the rest of the month.

Next year, and I’m putting this here partially to help remind me, I want to write something that is contemporary and screwball. I want to challenge myself further, too. I have proven to myself that I can write a 50k novel in a month, there is no longer any doubt, I’ve done it five times. I want to do something that involves either upping the quality or the quantity of my novel. I have a whole year to decide what I really mean by that. :)

Thanks for coming along with me again this year. xo

50601 / 50000 words. 101% done!

Leave a Reply

