NaNoWriMo: Days 13 thru 16

I really hit a block over this past weekend. I took on another November project that I’ve been worrying about but not actually dealing with that involves my sewing machine and me breaking two needles and not being able to sew a straight line, FUN! I have to get this done by Thanksgiving, and would also like to get my NaNoWriMo wrapped up before then as well.

Lots of times in the past 4 or 5 days I have thought of some Other Novel I Could be Writing. Contemporary and hilarious novels. I put myself in the historical box two years in a row, and you know what, this novel reminds me of the last one a lot. I barely remember the last one, but I feel like they’re taking place in the same house. I decided to age the teenage boy villain to 19 when I realized this was going to be the second novel in a row with an evil, blond, blue eyed teenaged boy. At least this one can flirt with the protagonist without making me want to vomit.

In summary, on the 13th I wrote 1,822 words, on the 14th I wrote 1,707, on the 15th I hit my low point with the dull ache of writer’s block in my stomach and wrote 1,084 words, during which I took Chris Baty’s advice and killed off a major character, thus finding the inspiration for 2,150 words on the 16th.

Lying in bed this morning I thought of about 15 things that need to happen in my novel, I arranged them this way and that in my head and thought bam! this is happening, I have rediscovered my novel, huzzah! and then I dozed off and I’m not really sure what I was thinking about.

33897 / 50000 words. 68% done!

Leave a Reply

