NaNoWriMo: Day Nine


Today was actually a great writing day, but I’m getting ahead of myself. It was hard to get started. I wrote a really deliciously long and rambly email to a friend. I’m usually pretty bad at returning email, in that I put them off until it’s kind of embarrassing to respond. I think most people are this way and don’t take it personally, though… right? I hope so anyway. If I owe you an email, it’s totally suckiness on my end and not yours that I haven’t responded, I promise!
At some point, after my soup and green tea and long email and episode of All My Children on the ABC website I thought “I’m pretty sure I need to paint my nails for the first time in over 3 years before I start writing.” But! I persevered. Or @NaNoWordSprints announced a big block of 10 minute sprints before I could pry myself out of my chair to go and find nail polish. It was probably that. Anyway, I wrote for the whole block. I think it was six 10 minute sprints, but I wasn’t keeping fantastic track. All I know is that it got me 1,933 words. I would have done better with two 30 minute sprints, but those don’t really present themselves very often and I guess I am loathe to write alone. After that I gave myself permission to paint my fingernails neon orange. I feel like I’m six years old. When Shaun got home I wrote with him for 30 minutes and 1,016 more words, which gave me a hefty 2,949 for the day. Hefty!


PS It is freaking gorgeous in my yard right now.

22363 / 50000 words. 45% done!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Nine

  1. thejinx says:

    Congrats on the progress! It’s funny how some things that would never draw one’s interest the rest of the year suddenly become riveting during NaNoWriMo. Vacuuming? Sounds great! Folding laundry? I’d be happy to! Kudos for sticking it out, though! Happy writing!

    • Rachel says:

      This normally happens to me a lot, last year I was doing yoga after every writing session, cooking dinner, keeping the house super clean and keeping just a little bit ahead on my word count. I feel like I’m falling behind all over the place and catching up on random things, like watching movies I forgot I owned and painting my fingernails. I would rather feel like vacuuming. :) Thank you!

Leave a Reply

