NaNoWriMo: Day Three

Huge writing day. I got a lot more done than I thought I was going to when noon hit and I hadn’t written a word. The last few years I have done my best writing in the mornings, between 9 & 11am. When Shaun came home from work and started working on his writing, I would sort things around the house, work on getting dinner together, edit photos, rarely would I join him in a word war.

This year I have written in the early afternoon and then joined Shaun for two half hour write-ins in the afternoon as well. As a result, I got 3,614 words today. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep this pace once we enter week two doldrums, but I’m going to write as often as I can make myself. I’m also starting to like my story a little bit, which is good. I gave up on keeping supernatural aspects out and things got so much easier. I need to revist my Magna Carta I list I made this year (as advised in No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty) I’m just meant to include ghoulies, that’s all there is to it. I haven’t even decided what the supernatural element is, but it’s building spookily and it lopes about the countryside with coattails flapping. I’ve never written a werewolf before, but I suppose it could be that. Who knows? Not I the author, that’s for sure.

& it’s polaroid week! In past years I have felt really inspired during this week. I think I feel a little low because it’s my last pack of film. Yeah. There’s impossible project film, and it looks pretty awesome, but the Polaroid 600 that expired in October 2009, I have 3 shots left. Sigh.

9392 / 50000 words. 19% done!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Three

  1. thejinx says:

    Congrats on an impressive word count for the day! There’s a lot of having to just go with the flow during NaNoWriMo, isn’t there? Here’s to hoping it’ll be for the best. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

