We have a couple of pitiful azalea plants by our front porch. The first year we lived here, they didn’t even bloom. One of them always gets choked by grass that I can’t seem to keep out of it, but it blooms pretty well anyway (the middle of it is full of grass and blooms, I can hardly pull the grass out without harming the flowers). The other one is clear of such obstructions, but barely blooms at all. They hardly get any sun. They never get any bigger. They seem to do better every year, though, so I suppose it could have been the years of neglect in regards to weeding that they had when no one lived here. It would be an awesome spot to have giant azalea bushes if they did well. As it is, it looks pretty pathetic.

We also figured out the culprit for our bushes in the front uprooting themselves. I’ve been replanting them for about 6 months every time I find one lying on it’s side, and they have kept alive as long as I got them back in the ground. Something is chewing their roots off. I have given up. I want to move the ones that have never been uprooted somewhere else and plant something else there and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

