Conrad Farms in Bixby

In April I went to Conrad Farms with my parents. We used to go sometimes when I was a kid, and I think the last time we went I was about 13 years old. It was familiar and strange all at once. When I was a kid it was kind of fun because it was so different. I liked the smell of dirt and vegetables, and I liked to eat them when mom made them, but I didn’t really care about buying them. I liked to plant flowers with my mom, a lot, but I don’t really remember enjoying picking them out in a greenhouse.

Now I feel entirely different. I purchased vegetables for my own meals and plants for my own garden. It was kind of surreal to go in, fill my basket with food and pepper plants, buy them, and take them home to Pwhisker Hollow. I felt like an adult, and between playing The Sims 2 and taking photographs and devising new holidays and having treasure hunts and trying to decide where to house the toy collection, I don’t often feel like an adult.

Any discomfort I may have felt at the thought of growing up was quickly dashed as I treated my parents to Sonic, where I had a kids meal with a grilled cheese sandwich, fries, and a chocolate milk. I love Sonic because it’s the only place I can get a vegetarian kids meal. My toy was a little tin car that opens up. I played with it in the backseat of the car on the way home.

Leave a Reply

